S.A Barista Champion Announced!

Veneziano’s Mike Wells (from First Pour South Australia) has been named the 2012 South Australia Barista Champion in the first event to kick off the 2013 Australasian Specialty Coffee Association (AASCA) championships season.

The event saw 17 of the State’s top baristas face off over four competitions.

The first challenge was the Cup Tasting, where Jonny Pisanelli (of Cibo Espresso fame) emerged victorious. Next up was the ever popular Latte Art Challenge, where Daniel Freer (from Bar 9) managed to claim the top spot.

The inaugural SA Brewers Cup was next, with Ian Callahan, (founder of Bar 9) coming out on top.
Finally, it was time for the main challenge – The Barista Competition, where Mike Wells was unstoppable.

Well done to all involved, and we look forward to the next one!